The Mystery of A Mighty God
2008-01-26

I'm really tired. More info on what we did last night and today will be posted on my other diary later.


Psalms for today: 26, 56, 86, 116, 146

O LORD, I love the habitation of your house and the place where your glory dwells.
Do not sweep my soul away with sinners, nor my life with bloodthirsty men,
in whose hands are evil devices, and whose right hands are full of bribes.--Psalm 26:8-10



Day 65

read

Job 9:2-4,14-23

Job responds to the tragedy in his life. There are a variety of emotions that run through this passage.

think

God's wisdom is so deep, God's power so immense, who could take him on and come out in one piece?

That is the phrase that stands out to me.

As I meditate on that phrase, I am astonished by the number of people who believe that they can come out ahead of God. The arrogance of humanity is truly astounding.

pray

As I keep the phrase in mind, I'm to picture God in the room with me.

How do you relate to his presence?

First of all, it's very difficult to "picture" him in a room with me, as I have no clue what he "looks" like. I can't really picture that. However, I can make myself be aware of his presence, and I can also create an image in my mind of Jesus and picture him in a room with me.

I am in awe of his presence. His immense power and wisdom make me cower in his presence. I'm not sure how, exactly, to respond. If God were to just "appear" in a room with me, I am sure my first reaction would be to throw myself face down at his feet. I would probably begin spouting out my many sins, in confession of how unworthy I am to be in his presence. At some point, I believe he would reassure me of my position in Christ, at which point, I would begin hearing whatever he has to say to me.

live

Throughout the next week, I'll try to remember this experience before I begin my prayer/reading times.

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com