Giving Comfort
2008-01-25

Psalms for today: 25, 55, 85, 115, 145

To you, O LORD, I lift up my soul.
O my God, in you I trust;
let me not be put to shame;
let not my enemies exult over me.
Indeed, none who wait for you shall be put to shame;
they shall be ashamed who are wantonly treacherous.

Make me to know your ways, O LORD;
teach me your paths.
Lead my in your truth and teach me, for you are the God of my salvation;
for you I wait all the day long.

Remember your mercy, O LORD, and your steadfast love,
for they have been from of old.
Remember not the sins of my youth or my transgressions;
according to your steadfast love remember me,
for the sake of your goodness, O LORD!--Psalm 25:1-7




Day 64

read

Job 5:17-21

Eliphaz is speaking to Job, after Job has lost everything he holds dear.

think

As Job hears the words of Eliphaz, I wonder what he thinks. "What a blessing when God steps in and corrects you." What?? Job had no need of correction. I think he might have resented that statement.

It seems to me that Eliphaz is being a bit pompous, here.

What makes a comforter really helpful? Is telling the truth enough?

Not always. Sometimes a comforter need not say anything. Sometimes it is enough to just be there and sit silently. Sometimes, the truth needs to be kept silent for a season.

What did Job need from Eliphaz?

Not philosophical gibberish, that's for sure. I mean, part of what he said was ok. God does bring healing from the same hand that he brings hurt. But God wasn't correcting Job. Job needed the quiet presence of a supportive friend.

What might be in the heart of a person who preaches at someone who is so far down?

Not compassion, that's for sure. I'm not sure what is in a person's heart like Eliphaz, because, unlike God, I can't really judge the heart. But there is certainly a lack of sensitivity, and there is a great appearance of self-vindication. I knew a pastor once who came across this way. There was always an air of superiority in the way he carried himself, because he was "a pastor!" Ironically, he couldn't pronounce two words correctly in a row, could barely put together a correct sentence, and...about 20 years ago was caught flashing college girls at TCU. So there you go.

pray

I ask the Holy Spirit, the Master Comforter to give me what is needed to truly comfort people. I need to not be a "moralizer" or an "advice giver." I need to be a comforter. Along with that, I ask the Spirit to help me to draw out of hurting people what they need to express to the Father.

live

Rest your mind on someone who is in deep trouble. Pray only the word peace for them--no suggestions, no fixing, no rescuing. Just trusting.

That is remarkable advice. I already have someone in mind. Two, in fact. Both have spouses who have had recent, life-threatening surgery. I pray peace over them.

Grace and peace to you, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com