God Gives, God Takes
2008-01-23

Gonna have to rush through this one...I hate that, too. Have to go to Stephanie's high school at 6:30.


Psalms for today: 23, 53, 83, 113, 143

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD forever.--Psalm 23:6



Day 62

read

Job 1:1, 8-11, 21

I've read the passage, noting God's involvement in it. In fact, I was instructed to circle God every time he is mentioned.

think

Good questions on the interaction between God and Satan.

Does it bother you that God is bartering with Satan with Job's life? Is this the God you know?

I don't really see this as "bartering." Because God already knows the outcome. And yes, it is the God I know. Because we all belong to God and, as our creator, it is basically his right to do with us as he pleases. A lot of people want to take that right away from him and demand that he only do "good" things (and, also demand the right to define what is "good") to us. Ultimately, everything that God does for us is good! If you read the rest of the story of Job, he wound up even better off than he started.

If I lost everything the way Job did, would I be as faithful as he was? Would I be able to utter the words that form the title of this study? I don't know. You never know what you will do in any given situation. I like to think that I would be like Job in my responses. But I might go off the deep end first. I guess my responsibility is to strengthen my walk to the point where I can say, without a doubt, that I would respond the same way Job did.

pray

I will spend time meditating on Job's honest words of faith to God. I will invite the Holy Spirit to speak to me through them.

live

As I use objects around me during the rest of this week, I will contemplate their value to me and how I would respond if those items were suddenly taken away from me.

Remember...it all belongs to God, anyway.

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com