Just Such A Time
2008-01-20

I'm looking at the last bit of yesterday's entry. I'm still not sure about what I need to do. However, I look at the room around me where I compose these diaries, and it's a bloody mess! So I'm thinking one "small" habit that I could get started is to keep this room clean. My wife would certainly like that a little more. It's gonna take a whole day to do, though. Stacks everywhere! Egad!


Psalms for today: 20, 50, 80, 110, 140

Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the LORD our God.
They collapse and fall, but we rise and stand upright.--Psalm 20:7-8

Where is our trust? If it is in "chariots and horses," it will fail. We don't have chariots and horses much today (well, there are plenty of horses, but not used much in battle), but we have lots of other tangible things in which we can place our trust. The most obvious is money. But God says we cannot trust both him and money. We really can't trust both him and anything!


Day 59

read

Esther 4:7-14

As I read this passage, I'm attempting to consider how Esther might have felt, being chosen to be queen, then finding that her people are about to be anihilated by order of the king.

think

I'm focusing on Mordecai's challenge to Esther in the face of her fear. She is fearful to approach the king without an invitation, because it could lead to death. Mordecai reminds her that she may well wind up dead anyway, because she is of the race that is about to be wiped out.
The phrase that I am choosing to contemplate has the title of the devotion in it. "Maybe you were made queen for just such a time as this."

pray

As I ponder this phrase during a prayer time, I'm supposed to search for a memory that relates. As I try, I consider the implications of the phrase that I chose. We never know what God has planned. He carefully places people and things in our way for "just such a time as this." Therefore, we need always be ready to respond to a challenge that comes our way. Prayerfully, I might add, because it doesn't mean we are to do everything that someone asks of us.

live

Take some time now to rest with the Father. Let the conversation be whatever it needs to be, or just sit with him. Sometimes we need that. Just to sit with the Father, resting in his arms. He loves us so very much.

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com