Burden For the Poor
2008-01-18

Doing better today. Thanks for any prayers that went up.


Psalms for today: 18, 48, 78, 108, 138

He brought me out into a broad place;
he rescued me, because he delighted in me.--Psalm 18:19



Day 57

read

Heh...the book reverses some of the steps for this lesson, but I can't really follow it. It puts the "live" section first and says to fast from one meal in preparation for the lesson. Unfortunately, it is almost 10pm and I've already had all my meals for this day. Perhaps I will fast for part of tomorrow to experience the lesson in "retrograde."

Nehemiah 5:6-11

In this passage Nehemiah is berating some of the Israelites for charging interest to other Israelites. He accuses them of selling them into debt slavery. Nehemiah is correct to do so.
Later in the New Testament, we are forbidden to charge interest to other believers. If I have to loan you money, and you are a brother or sister in Christ, I should not require nor expect interest on the repayment. There is a good chance I won't even ask for the money back at all. Kind of depends on how much I loaned you, I guess.

think

It's hard to imagine what Nehemiah must have felt. He was already burdened with the task of overseeing the rebuilding of the walls of Jerusalem. Now, he had the task of dealing with poverty and injustice as well. This is where the hunger is supposed to play into this lesson. But I'm rather stuffed at the moment, so that won't really work. However, tomorrow, around noon, when I am hungry, I will reflect on this problem.
I have to think that Nehemiah was frustrated, probably thinking, "I really don't need this right now." I think this shows in his little speech in this passage. But I also think his speech is justified. And the guily ones, I believe, exhibited shame. For it says, "They said nothing. What could they say?" They knew they were wrong and had nothing to offer in their defense.
We have a responsibility to look after our brothers and sisters. We must set aside any propensity for greed when dealing with other Christians.

pray

Begin praying by listening for God's heart regarding justice. Ask him to show you people who need your prayers. Then ask him to point out when you need to speak up on their behalf, and ask for the courage to actually follow through with it.

My heavenly Father really cracks me up sometimes. (I mean no disrespect with that comment.) After what I have been through this week, then he hits me with this lesson and prayer instruction. Another strong lesson about waiting for God before running ahead with any plan! For a brief, yet vague, explanation of what I am talking about, see my other diary.

And that's all I'm gonna say about that.

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com