God Encounters
2008-01-17

It's been a real emotional rollercoaster ride over the past 24 hours. When I feel comfortable doing so, I will explain on my other diary soon. In the meantime, please pray for me and my oldest daughter, Rachel. Just lift up our names...God knows what it's about.


Psalms for today: 17, 47, 77, 107, 137
As for me, I shall behold your face in righteousness;
when I awake, I shall be satisfied with your likeness.

I've always thought this was a beautiful verse by David.


Day 56
So. Today is the seventh day in my "devotional week." It's the day that I reflect back on the previous six days.

Day 50--Shout From the Mountaintops
All the popular "gods" are stuff and nonense. We should be shouting "Bravo!" to our God from the housetops and mountaintops. And, even though this thought didn't come from this devotional book..."We are far too easily pleased."

Day 51--Our Lives Are Mere Shadows
The truth of the title is the basis of the lesson. Everything that we have is just "borrowed." We need to examine our possessions and relationship to be sure that we aren't holding on too tightly to them, thereby diminishing our pleasure with God.

Day 52--Dedication Ceremonies
After reading Solomon's dedication prayer to God for the temple he had just built, I am led to examine my own life, the possessions spoken of in the previous day, as well as the relationships and make the choice to dedicate them solely to God and his purposes. All of life is fragile and everything that is "borrowed" should be used for God's glory.

Day 53--FROG: Fully Rely On God
What happens when we don't? "One round of war after another." We lose precious victories in our lives when we don't rely on our Father. Asa relied on human protection instead of God and it cost him dearly. O, taste and see that the Lord is good!

Day 54--Open Arms
During a period of time when the Lord's Passover had been neglected, Hezekiah decides to re-instate it, fully and properly celebrated. God welcomes his people back with open arms. Just as the father in Jesus' prodigal son parable, God will always welcome us back with open arms, no matter what level of "pig slop" we have been wallowing in. And this truth is something that I can proclaim from personal experience. Sadly, more than once.

Day 55--What Can We Say For Ourselves?
Ezra prays to God concerning the sins of the people, and how they have "thrown God's commands to the wind." It's essentially, a prayer of confession and submission. The next to last sentence basically says, "Look at us standing here...guilty before you." We have nothing to say for ourselves, we are guilty. We can only throw ourselves on the "mercy of the court." And praise GOD that he is merciful! Can I get an "AMEN!!"

Well, that's it for this last seven days. I think I've learned some good lessons in the last week. Hopefully some that will stick.

God bless you all.

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com