God Encounters
2008-01-10

I didn't really feel like doing this today, but here I am, because I'm committed to it. And one of the best things you can do if you don't feel like reading the Bible is to read the Bible.

Psalms for today 10, 40, 70, 100, 130

The LORD is king forever and ever;
the nations perish from his land.
O LORD, you hear the desire of the afflicted;
you will strengthen their heart;
you will incline your ear
to do justice to the fatherless and the oppressed,
so that man who is of the earth
may strike terror no more.--Psalm 10:16-18



Day 49

A review of the devotions of the previous six days.

Day 43--When Trusting God Is A Handful
The title was a play on words because a handful of flour was all the widow had left. But she willingly gave it for the prophet and was rewarded with a perpetual supply. I need to be this trusting of God. He is infinitely trustworthy.

Day 44--Because Of His Repentance
Ahab repented and God showed him mercy. This speaks volumes, for Ahab was a great enemy of God! This gives me hope and confidence, because God has shown me mercy and grace, as well. Therefore, I should practice the same. I rejoice when I see justice, but mercy reigns supreme.

Day 45--False Hopes?

Again, we must trust God. We must have the faith that the Shunnamite woman had that God will care for us tenderly. As each day passes, I am more impressed with the understanding that God does, in fact, care for us deeply and tenderly. This is an intimate relationship. I still can't picture what my life would look like if I could trust God so completely...

Day 46--Investing In People

We must be always aware of what kind of things we might be passing on to those around us, especially those who look up to use for teaching or advice. Jehoiada taught a king. Who are we teaching?

Day 47--God's White-Hot Anger

God hates our sin. Passionately, with a "white-hot anger." But, through the blood of Jesus, we are cleansed. This is not license for blatant disobedience, but reason for encouragement and hope. When we do sin, we don't experience God's anger, because of Christ. I was directed to a song that speaks of simply sitting with Christ and allowing him to just hold me.

Day 48--Linking Arms

Our companions are important. It is important to have companions who are willing to "link arms" with us in our ministries or struggles. Whatever we have to face, it is not good for us to attempt to face it alone. In this example, it was David's "Mighty Men" who linked arms with the king. There truly is strength in numbers.

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com