Linking Arms
2008-01-09

Psalms for today: 9, 39, 69, 99, 129

The LORD is a stronghold for the oppressed,
a stronghold in times of trouble.
And those who know your name put their trust in you,
for you, O LORD, have not forsaken those who seek you.--Psalm 9:9-10



Day 48

read

1 Chronicles 11:10-11

This very brief passage begins the description of David's Mighty Men. They are said to have "linked arms" with the king.

The first one listed (and only one in this passage) is Jashobeam, son of Hacmoni. He singlehandedly killed 300 men in one skirmish. Heh. Sounds like the Spartans needed him.

I was instructed to read the passage, underlining all verbs or action words. Here are the ones I underlined: linked, took, joining, helping, become, spoken, killed (twice).

think

The stories of David's Mighty Men are remarkable. One time, they risked their lives to go across enemy lines to bring David some water. Plus they were his friends, to boot.

I'm supposed to discuss this passage with a friend or mentor. I'll have to do that at work tonight. I hope I'll remember.

What do you think about the idea of linking arms with others? I think it's a fantastic idea. When people link their arms, there is no getting between them. I daresay that the strength of two people is more than doubled when their arms are linked.

Is it awkward? Well, yeah. It can be. It's difficult to join forces with people that you don't know very well.

Is it worth the effort? Absolutely! For one thing, if you "link arms" with someone you don't know very well, chances are there will be a deeper relationship when the task is finished. Especially if it is finished successfully!

pray

I'm asked to talk to God about any insecurities that I might have about linking up with others. I will pray for discernment in choosing who I might want to link arms with. I daresay that I have already begun the process with our new pastor at church. It's kind of necessary that he and I link arms together, along with any other staff that is at the church. If we can't link arms with each other, our ministry is pretty well doomed, innit?

live

I'm instructed to approach these individuals and ask them to link arms with me.

People I will talk to: Phillipp (although I think we probably have already linked) and Bill.



Tomorrow will be another "God Encounters" day where I recap the last 6 entries.

The milestone that will be accomplished is that I have 1) had an entry every day this year, so far, and 2) actually made it through a week's worth of entries without interruption.

I'm so looking forward to what God is going to do through me this year.

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com