God Encounters
2008-01-03

Today, I'm reading Psalms 3, 33, 63, 93, and 123. (You've probably figured out this pattern by now...this way I read all the Psalms in a month, except I save 119 for day 31 in the month...it's really long, you know.)

Here is a verse that is true for all people, believers and unbelievers alike.

I lay down and slept; I woke again, for the LORD sustained me.--Psalm 3:3

Millions of people wake up every day, unaware that that very act was a blessing from God. God sustains all life, everywhere.


Day 42 of The Message//Remix: Solo

This is the day of reflection over the last 6 days of devotions.

Day 36--An Absalom Moment God loves me just the way I am. There is nothing I can do to earn his love, or to make him love me more. I also cannot cause him to love me less. My identity is not defined by what I do, but by who I am and whoseI am! This is the greatest of news!

Day 37--Loving Those In the Here and Now We cannot live in regret of the past. We need to appreciate those who stand beside us. Look for those opportunities daily.

Day 38--God Feels the Pain Our sins leave "little marks" on our souls. Whether they are huge sins that result in the deaths of thousands, as David's did, or tiny ones that no one else will ever see...the marks are there.

Day 39--A Dream Fulfilled It's good to have dreams. It is also good to hold on to them...heheh..."Hold on tight to your dreams..." (Anyone remember THAT song?) Dreams don't have to be realized immediately. David's wasn't realized until after his death, through his son, Solomon.

Day 40--Pay Attention To My Prayers It's okay to come boldly before God's throne with requests. "Everything that one turns in the direction of God is prayer."--Ignatius of Loyola.

Day 41--Idol Factories Our hearts are "idol factories." We need to be aware of things in our lives that are "golden calves" before the Lord. Most of us don't ever set out to create a golden calf to worship like Jeroboam did. These things kind of creep in. We need to ask God to help us identify them and keep him central in our lives.

So endeth another week of devotions.

In the shadow of your wings, I will sing for joy!--Psalm 63:7


0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com