God Encounters
2007-12-22

Day 35

Once again, it's the day where I am to reflect on the last seven devotions. I almost skipped this one, in light of the fact that it's taken me several weeks to accomplish seven devotions, but if I get this one done, I have a chance to "start fresh" on Sunday morning with a new week of devotions. Having Monday and Tuesday off this next week for Christmas will help me "jump start" the week in devotions, maybe getting me back on a daily track. If you read this diary, pray for me to get on that track.

Day 29--Is God Enough?

On this day, I learned that we need to work on feeling ok that we are different from other people. I learned that I need to be more trusting of God to provide my needs and to keep my in line with him.

Day 30--And God Help You!

Here, I learned how pointless it is to feel anxious about anything. I also had an "epiphany" about working so hard to change jobs just because I'm dissatisfied with the place I work. I need to focus more on leading God's people in worship every Sunday morning. That's who I am. That's who God has called me to be.

Day 31--Honoring and Valuing Others

On this day, I learned that I need to find ways to honor those who dishonor me. David not killing Saul when he had the chance was our example. If all Christians would work at this one ideal, what kind of world would we have?

Day 32--Pain, Disappointment, and Heartbreak

Here, I learned that the only proper way to deal with pain, disappointment and heartbreak is to take it to God in whatever form we know how. David wrote a song, a lament, over the death of Saul and Jonathan. Other people over the years have written songs, hymns, poems and such. Sometimes all we can do is simply "Cry Out To Jesus." (I still think that Third Day song is one of the best Christian songs I've ever heard.) Whatever your form of outlet, it doesn't matter. Take it to Jesus.

Day 33--God's Track Record With Me

On this day, I learned that Josh Groban can make me cry just by singing Silent Night. Hehehe...

Seriously, though, on this day, it was all about things that God has done and included me in, all because of his heart, and not because of anything I have done.

This resonates loudly and strongly within spirit. Anyone who truly knows me knows that I am a "Calvinist." A full-fledged Five-Pointer. This means that I believe that everything that happens is part of God's plan and that it is only by his grace that we are included in it. My love for him and my acceptance of Jesus as my savior were all written down "before the foundations of the earth." I love God because he saw fit to choose me. And not because of anything I have done or will do. It's all because of his good pleasure.

Day 34--Honoring Others

I just realized that there were two days in this "week" with almost the same title. But I think we can't get too much teaching about honoring each other, especially in this day of sever dishonor in our world.

On this day, I learned that, although I am not physically handicapped, I am certainly "lame" in spirit. At least before Christ was part of my life. And sometimes even after. Yet the King still sees fit to honor me (and you and all other believers) by allowing us to eat at his table. Should we not treat each other with the same honor?

Ok. That's it for this week. I'll be back tomorrow morning with a new one.

By the way, if you like what you see in these diaries, I strongly encourage you to run out (or double click) and buy this book, especially with a new year coming on, if you are looking for a new devotional book to read in 2008. It's called The Message//Remix: Solo. An Uncommon Devotional, published by NavPress (you really can't go wrong with just about anything those people publish), written by Eugene Peterson, the man who translated The Message version of the Bible.

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com