Welcoming the Stranger
2007-11-13

Another quote from Chambers.
We have to get out into faith in Jesus continually; not a prayer meeting Jesus Christ, not a book Jesus Christ, but the New Testament Jesus Christ, Who is God Incarnate, and Who ought to strike us to His feet as dead.

And...
How can anyone who is identified with Jesus Christ suffer from doubt or fear?

That last one really hurts doesn't it? But it's so true. If we really belong to Him, if we really, truly believe...


Today's passage: Ruth 3:1-2, 4, 8-13, 16-18

Read

This passage is about Ruth's introduction to Boaz, who becomes Ruth's "kinsman-redeemer," which was a custom of their day that dealt with widows and such...I'm not goint to get into all of that right now. But, at Naomi's urging, Ruth makes herself available to Boaz. Ruth had been married to one of Naomi's sons back in Moab. Naomi's husband died, then her two sons died. The other daughter-in-law stayed in Moab when Naomi came back home, but Ruth insisted on coming with her.

Think

I'm told to read the passage again slowly, keeping in mind that Ruth is a foreign Moabite woman while Naomi and Boaz are Israelites. Then I'm asked who I identify with most.

I'm not sure. I'm definitely older, and feel more at home in the "Christian" setting, but I don't always feel so wise. But I've been a Christian for a long time, so I guess I would have to identify more with Naomi. So for me to call this foreigner "daughter" takes a definite shift in the standard paradigm. I can't believe I just used the word "paradigm." Hah.

But anyway, this goes along with what I believe the Lord has been trying to tell me recently about how we treat foreigners. We're back to that again. God is telling us, through messages like the one in Ruth, that there are no "strangers" in the Christian walk. There are no "foreigners" to God.

This works two ways, too. We should never have to feel like a stranger, as long as there are brothers and sisters in Christ somewhere around. No matter where we are, no matter what "denomination" we are, if there are other Christians around, there should be no strangers. And frankly, we shouldn't even be treating non-believers as "strangers." We shouldn't treat them as brothers in the strictest sense, either, but we should always be kind to everyone we run across in our daily lives.

Pray

I give thanks to God for the way he provides for all strangers and aliens and that he is not partial to one people group. I need to ask him how I can "partner" with him in this.

Live

"In the quiet, consider God's attentiveness to all people. Is there someone specific he brings to mind? Today and in the next few days, look for opportunities to pay attention to the stranger in the same way God does."

I will be looking for these opportunities. The only people who immediately come to mind are people that I encounter at work. Mostly drivers who come to my window for paperwork, etc. But a lot of them are one-time encounters. How does my treatment of them affect their day? Their lives?



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com