Let Me Be Avenged
2007-11-11

Another quote from Chambers to begin this day, reminding me that God's purposes are more important than me, my happiness, or my purposes.
If through a broken heart God can bring His purposes to pass in the world, then thank Him for breaking your heart.

This is a good response to all of those who believe that God has our comfort as his primary purpose.


Judges 16:25-30

Read

This passage relates Samson's final strike against the Philistines.

Think

>>What stands out to you about Samson's dramatic action and the ending of his life?

It seems that he has decided that his life is not worth living anymore, and that if he doesn't do this final thing, he will be imprisoned by the Philistines for the rest of his pathetic life. Noted that he has also realized whence his strength comes.

>>Do you resonate with his deep desire for justice to be served?

I'm all about the justice. Sometimes too much so. There has to be a healthy balance between a desire for justice and some compassion and the wisdom to know which is more important at which time. I really desire justice when I see people being mistreated and abused.

>>What do you observe about how he acted on that desire for revenge?

It was self-sacrificing. I also notice that it was still pretty much selfishly born. Samson was never a very good person. He was always a primadonna, selfish brat. And even in his death, which God used for his purposes, Samson only acted in his own interest. He only wanted vengeance for his eyes, which they had gouged out.

Pray

I'm told to pick a word or phrase from this passage that can stimulate a dialogue with God.

For me, it is simply, "And Samson cried out to God..." How important it is for us to do that.

Live

What stands out about God's involvement and lack of involvement in this passage?

God never spoke directly in this event. He granted Samson's request, but only so that his own vengeance could be carried out against the Philistines. In my mind, this corroborates what I quoted from Chambers at the beginning of this entry. Wow. How cool is that?? God has taken two seemingly unrelated things that I have read this morning and put them together to show me a grand truth.

Once again...God's purposes reign over all. His purpose in Samson's life was judgment on the Philistines. It took Samson losing his eyes and, ultimately, his life.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com