You Were Once Slaves
2007-10-20

READ

The passage for today is Deuteronomy 24:10-15, 17-22. A little longer than usual.

Here are some instructions on how to treat other people; foreigners, slaves (laborers) and those in debt to us. They are capped off with a reminder that "you were once slaves in Egypt."

THINK

The common theme between all the scenarios listed in this passage seems to me to be making sure that others are taken care of first. The Bible is full of this concept. Others should always come before me.

Anybody remember the movie "Brian's Song?" It was the story of Brian, um...shoot. Piccolo (thank you, IMDB). Brian Piccolo and Gale Sayers. Both football players on the Chicago Bears, Piccolo befriends Sayers, then discovers that he is dying. A real tear-jerker, but Brian's motto was "God is first, others are second, and I am third." The movie was based on the biography of Piccolo, I Am Third.

That's how it is supposed to be. I am third. At least.

What is it that stands out about a God who would give instructions like this to his people? What is he like?

He cares passionately about people. He desires that our thoughts and passions be directect outwardly rather than inwardly. The more we do that, the more like him we are.

PRAY

I'm asked to think about a recent encounter with someone who might be like the groups described in this passage. The closest thing I can think of is a coworker who's life seems to be coming apart at the seams right now. Her husband has been dealing with cancer in his throat, and this week, they were doing tests to find out how much of his larynx they were going to have to remove. Possibly all of it. On top of that, she found out that her daughter may have cervical cancer. That test was being done on Friday.

This lady and I have been working together (sort of...we work on different shifts, but they overlap slightly) for over 12 years, and the two of us are kind of viewed as the backbone of our admin group, even though I'm officially "dispatch" now instead of admin. When she told me these things, I almost started crying on the spot, hurting for her. That's just the way I am. This guy isn't afraid to cry. I told her that if she needed a shoulder, mine was available. I believe she really appreciated this. Everyone needs to know that someone, somewhere cares about them and their problems/needs. And in the place that I work, that's kind of hard to find.

I can only be this way because of the presence of Christ in me. Even with all my flaws, I can't help but care about people and their problems. I may not be able to do much, but I can be there, listen, maybe give a hug, and most of all, pray.

LIVE

How do I picture God responding to me in this situation? I think that he would be pleased that I care. Responses to situations like this are important if we are to have any kind of witness for Christ in our lives. God wasn't specifically mentioned in this encounter, but this lady knows that I will be praying for her.

I do know that I need to be constantly looking for situations like this. Often, especially at work, I get so caught up in everything that I have to do that I don't notice people's hurts. I need the Holy Spirit to be active in me to make me more aware of these things and know how to respond to them.

Don't ever forget that you were once slaves...



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com