Day of Reflection
2007-10-10

Today is the day that I'm supposed to reflect on everything I've learned over the past six days. Originally, this should have been done on Fridays, but I got behind. I'll never work to get "caught up" in this devotion. If I miss a day, I just pick up where I left off.

So here goes...

I'm thankful for the sacrifice that Jesus made. I need to be more active in sharing this with others. I need consistently be more aware of the severity of my own sin.

The "scapegoat" in the Old Testament was a foreshadowing of the work of Jesus Christ. My sins are "sent off," the are cast as far as the east is from the west. "From one scarred hand to the other," as a popular new Christian song says.

God is holy. His name is holy. All that he does is just.

It's good to create objects for remembrance to help us remember times when God was evident in our lives. He is always there, of course, but sometimes it is more evident than others.

God is slow to anger and very patient, but will not always strive with us. Obedience is crucial. He also recognizes a spirit of passion for him and his name. He will reward such passion.

God is our hiding place and our refuge. He had Israel designate "asylum-cities" where people could run for protection. God is our "Asylum." Not a place for crazy people, but a place of refuge. He is our hiding place. He is our strong tower, our fortress.


Let God's truth work in you by soaking in it, not by worrying into it.


0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com