Letting Go Of Sin
2007-09-30

Ok. I missed yesterday, but it was an extremely busy day. To begin the day, I had to do a powerpoint presentation for our "Night of Praise" that we had last night. So, I didn't get my usual reading time in the morning. We left the house shortly after 10am to have lunch with my oldest daughter Rachel and her boyfriend Justin, in Richardson. We spent several hours with them, than raced back home to get final preparations done and go up to church for the "Night of Praise." In the meantime, my stomach is feeling all oogy. The NOP went off pretty well, except that our sound system seemed to be possessed. Stephanie's science teacher, who used to be a nuclear physicist, came and sang a couple of beautiful songs (some people get more than their share, you know?). Then after we got home I had to hurry and get the powerpoint presentation done for this morning's service. Plus I was feeling feverish.

I'm better this morning, and have some time, so here goes.

Read

Leviticus 16:20-22

This is a brief description of the "scapegoat," a sacrificial goat that was not killed, but instead let loose to wander around in the wilderness.

Think

I'm instructed to do several things at this point.

1. Picture myself laying hands on this animal.
2. Confess to God my acts of rebellion, bad attitudes and harsh thoughts about others.
3. Experience the feeling of transferring my sins to this animal.
4. See myself sending it off as it takes my sin far away from me.

That was basically the way the "scapegoat" was handled.

Pray

What do you wish to say to God about having sent off your sins without you?

My first thought is a hearty "Thank You!" It causes me to praise him for all that he is and for giving us a way to have our sins removed from us. Of course, this scapegoat idea is only a temporary fix for the Israelites. We are blessed to have the permanent "fix" in the person of Jesus Christ, who has removed our sins from us forever.

Live

I'm to quiet my mind and wait for God to show me situations in which I need to remember what I just did. I'm to practice resting assured of God's love in those situations as I am resting assured now.

Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine.
Oh, what a foretaste of glory divine!
Heir of salvation, purchase of God,
Born of His spirit, washed in His blood!

This is my story, this is my song:
Praising my Savior, all the day long!
This is my story, this is my song:
Praising my Savior, all the day long!

"Blessed Assurance," by Fanny Crosby in 1873.




0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com