The Bread God Has Given
2007-09-25

Beginning with words from Oswald Chambers...
The summing up of Our Lord's teaching is that the relationship which He demands is an impossible one unless He has done a supernatural work in us. Jesus Christ demands that there be not the slightest trace of resentment even suppressed in the heart of a disciple when he meets with tyranny and injustice.

These are hard words. Well, actually, "impossible," as it says. No amount of enthusiasm or "free will" can create what is needed to live the life in Christ. It must be totally, exclusively given by Him.


Read

Exodus 16:9-16

This is the passage where what most versions of the Bible call "manna" is introduced to the wandering Israelites. I think Peterson gives us the original word, more or less untranslated, as he renders it "man-hu." Literally, it was called "what is it?"

Reading the passage aloud.

Also, right before the manna appeared, they were treated to a look at the Glory of God visible in the clouds.

Think

I'm instructed to read the passage aloud again, pausing to feel emotions:
~~the deep neediness of complaining
~~the excitement of seeing the glory of God visible in the Cloud
~~the perplexity of seeing this strange bread from heaven
~~the satisfaction of having enough

I am then asked to consider what my complaint would be if I were complaining to God right now.

If I were complaining to God right now, I think it would be about my daughter's autism and our inability to successfully deal with it sometimes. The question is asked, In what ways am I perplexed by God's response to my complaining? Many times it seems as if there is no response. The behavior will seem better for a season, then, there we are, having the same fight with her that we have had over and over again. Nothing we have tried in the way of remedies or treatments seems to have had any effect. Either that, or we tried too many things at one time, and it was impossible to tell what was doing any good.

Then, the painful question: How might God have truly provided enough but you didn't recognize it as God's bread from heaven--exactly what you needed?

That is something that I must seriously consider. After all, 2 Peter 1:3 says that God has "granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness..." which means that, yes, God has truly provided everything we need. We just need to, as yesterday's lesson taught, "pay attention." Look around. Sometimes, even, just be still and know that he is God.

Pray

Now it tells me, if I have not formally complained to God about this matter, do it! Do it now! And then ask him to show me how he has provided us with enough.

Live

I am told to sit in the quiet and feel God's "enoughness." Heh. I like that word. And my mind is immediately drawn to the lyrics of Chris Tomlin's song, "Enough."

All of you is more than enough for all of me
For every thirst and every need
You satisfy me with your love
And all I have in you...
Is more than enough.

More than all I want,
More than all I need,
Yeah, you are more than enough for me.
More than all I know
More than all I can say
Yeah, you are more than enough...

Father, I delight in your "enoughness!"



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com