A Picture of Forgiveness
2007-09-23

Read
Genesis 50:15-21
In this reading, Joseph's brothers go to him after their father's funeral. They have concocted a fake message from their father to try to persuade Joseph to forgive them for selling him into slavery years ago.

Think
(I'm instructed to read the passage again, aloud, listening for a word of phrase that touches my heart. Then I am to recall it, mull it over, take it in. Then write only that word or phrase and nothing else.)

"You planned evil against me but God used those same plans for my good..."

Pray
I'm to read the passage aloud once again, searching for how forgiveness is illustrated. Think about what it feels like to be the forgiver, as well as being forgiven. How is this expression of love meaningful to you?

The meaningfulness of this to me is that these guys tried to kill Joseph! Yet, as he grew in God's plan and God's wisdom, he forgave them with no problem. I'm pretty sure he even saw through their lame little plan to get his forgiveness. He saw the big picture. That big picture was God's plan to get Joseph in the position of second in command of the most powerful regime in the world at that time. Joseph saw that instead of his brothers' petty little scheme and easily forgave them and even pledge to take care of them and their families.

Now I'm to read the passage yet again, looking for what God is inviting me to do or become this week.

I feel that God is inviting me, like Joseph to BE SECOND IN COMMAND OF THE MOST POWERFUL...hehe...just kidding. I feel that God is inviting me to focus on the bigger picture through all the circumstances in my life. Romans 8:28 says that "for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose." That purpose is what I need to be centered on. And "all things" consist of every little seemingly meaningless circumstance that happens in my daily life.

Live

I'm given a quote from the Book of Common Prayer for meditation throughout the week. "Let not the needy, O Lord, be forgotten; nor the hope of the poor be taken away."



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com