The Big Picture
2010-08-01

Father, I pray that, as I get ready to lead in worship this morning, my spirit would be calm, my mind focused, and my heart pure. Take away any distractions. Take away any stress. Be my all in all.


The Valley of Vision
THE CONVICTING SPIRIT

O blessed Spirit, Author of all grace and comfort,

Come, work repentance in my soul;
Represent sin to me in its odious colors that I may hate it;
Melt my heart by the majesty and mercy of God;
Show me my ruined self and the help there is in him;
Teach me to behold my Creator,
his ability to save,
his arms outstretched,
his heart big for me.
May I confide in his power and love,
commit my soul to him without reserve,
bear his image, observe his laws, pursue his service,
and be through time and eternity
a monument to the efficacy of his grace,
a trophy of his victory.
Make me willing to be saved in his way, perceiving nothing in myself, but all in Jesus:
Help me not only to receive him but
to walk in him,
depend upon him,
commune with him,
be conformed to him,
follow him,
imperfect, but still pressing forward,
not complaining of labor, but valuing rest,
not murmuring under trials, but thankful for my state.
Give me that faith which is the means of salvation, and the principle and medium of all godliness;
May I be saved by grace through faith,
live by faith,
feel the joy of faith,
do the work of faith.
Perceiving nothing in myself, may I find in Christ wisdom, righteousness, sanctification, redemption.



A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen
PSALM 89:46-52

46 How long, O LORD? Will you hide yourself forever? How long will your wrath burn like fire?
47 Remember how short my time is! For what vanity you have created all the children of man!
48 What man can live and never see death? Who can deliver his soul from the power of Sheol? Selah
49 Lord, where is your steadfast love of old, which by your faithfulness you swore to David?
50 Remember, O Lord, how your servants are mocked, and how I bear in my heart the insults of all the many nations,
51 with which your enemies mock, O LORD, with which they mock the footsteps of your anointed.
52 Blessed be the LORD forever! Amen and Amen.

Has God forgotten his promises? Have you ever wondered that? I have, I have to confess. Ethan, the writer of this psalm, agonizes over this issue.

"Ethan...writes of divine wrath and holy anger. He is moved by the futility of life and the inevitability of the grave. He appeals to God's infinite love and great faithfulness. He asks God to honor His word, then ends his prayer with a moving doxology."

The thing is, we can't just look at our immediate circumstances. We will get defeated if we do. We will become despondent and depressed. I could easily do this in my life right now. But I have experienced too many wonderful things in the Lord to allow that to happen. I appeal to his love and faithfulness. I remind my own spirit (along with my mind) of God's love and faithfulness. I remind myself that he will never leave me nor forsake me. I look at life from the divine perspective (at least as much as is possible for me), and am prompted, like Ethan, to end my day with "Blessed be the LORD forever! Amen and Amen."



Matthew Henry Daily Readings

Proverbs 4:14 Do not enter the path of the wicked, and do not walk in the way of the evil.

"The way of evil men may seem pleasant, and the nearest way to compass some end; but it is an evil way, and will end ill; if you lover your God and your soul, avoid it. It is not said, Keep at a due distance, but at a great distance; never think you can get far enough from it. The way of the righteous is light; Christ is their Way, and he is the Light. The saints will not be perfect till they reach heaven, but there they shall shine as the sun in his strength. The way of sin is as darkness. The way of the wicked is dark, therefore dangerous; they fall into sin, but know not how to avoid it. They fall into trouble, but never seek to know wherefore God contends with them, nor what will be in the end of it. This is the way we are bid to shun. Attentive hearing the word of God is a good sign of a work of grace begun in the heart, and a good means of carrying it on. There is in the word of God a proper remedy for all diseases of the soul. Keep your heart with all diligence. We must set a strict guard upon our souls; keep our hearts from doing hurt, and getting hurt. A good reason is given; because out of it are the issues of life. Above all, we should seek from the Lord Jesus that living water, the sanctifying Spirit, issuing forth unto everlasting life."



Father, I pray that you keep me from following evil men and their devices. Keep me far away from the path of the evil. If I even look at that path with a longing glance, slap me silly and point me back in the right way. I seek your words, Father. I read them, and sometimes even attentively. I pray that my "devotions" will be more attentive, and that I will be more aware of what I am reading at all times. Let my prayers be more sincere and serious, yes, even more intense! Keep my heart from doing hurt, from doing wrong. And give me that living water constantly, that I might not thirst.

Keep my eyes on you, Lord, through all my circumstances. I pray that I never get caught up in the "now," and that I always am able to see things, at least a little bit, through your eyes and your perspective. Yes, Lord, let me get the "big picture." Your "picture" is the ONLY "picture." My circumstances are fleeting. They are temporary. Your plan is permanent, and wonderfully, marvelously perfect.

Let the Spirit work in my soul, day by day, and increase my faith. I know the danger of asking for that, but I mean it. I need it.

Let our worship be acceptable in your sight this morning, Lord. Let us be changed by your presence. Let us be healed by your presence. Let your Spirit fall on us today.



Prayers from the Presidential Prayer Team site:

PRAY FOR THESE NATIONAL LEADERS IN THE NEWS THIS WEEK:

Mary L. Schapiro, Chairperson of the U.S Securities and Exchange Commission.

Zoe Lofgren, Untied States House of Representatives, California.

Judge John G. Heyburn, II, Chairman, U.S. Judicial Panel for Multidistrict Litigation.

Thomas A. Ferguson, Principal Deputy Under Secretary of Defense for Intelligence.



Keep your eyes on the Lord and on his plan. Don't let your circumstances and troubles distract you or deter you from what is most important.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com