Never Leave You
2010-06-17

Today is Thursday. Stephanie has her first day at "Champ Camp," today, a summer activity for "special needs" kids. It starts at 8:30, so we'll be leaving the house at 7:45, just to make sure we have plenty of time.

After that, I'm tackling Stephanie's room! DUNDUNDUNNNNN!!!

Yep. I'm pulling out the mattress & box springs, taking the futon frame out, and then cleaning up around where it was. We bought a full-size bed frame for $30 last weekend, and after I get things clean under and around her bed, I'll put that together and put her mattress back on it.

It may take more than a day. You might not believe me, but you haven't seen Stephanie's room.

Pray for me.



From The Valley of Vision:

"O God Most High, Most Glorious,
The thought of thine infinite serenity cheers me,
For I am toiling and moiling, troubled and distressed, but thou art for ever at perfect peace.
Thy designs cause thee no fear or care of unfulfilment, they stand fast as the eternal hills.
Thy power knows no bond, thy goodness no stint.
Thou bringest order out of confusion, and my defeats are thy victories:
The Lord God omnipotent reigneth.
I come to thee as a sinner with cares and sorrows, to leave every concern entirely to thee, every sin calling for Christ's precious blood;
Revive deep spirituality in my heart;
Let me live near to the great Shepherd, hear his voice, know its tones, follow its calls.
Keep me from deception by causing me to abide in the truth, from harm by helping me to walk in the power of the Spirit.
Give me intenser faith in the eternal verities, burning into me by experience the things I know;
Let me never be ashamed of the truth of the gospel, that I may bear its reproach, vindicate it, see Jesus as its essence, know in it the power of the Spirit.
Lord, help me, for I am often lukewarm and chill; unbelief mars my confidence, sin makes me forget thee.
Let the weeds that grow in my soul be cut at their roots;
Grant me to know that I truly live only when I live to thee, that all else is trifling.
Thy presence alone can make me holy, devout, strong and happy.
Abide in me, gracious God."

How sobering to read the words, "sin makes me forget thee."



Psalm 71:5-9

5 For you, O Lord, are my hope, my trust, O LORD, from my youth. 6 Upon you I have leaned from before my birth; you are he who took me from my mother's womb. My praise is continually of you. 7 I have been as a portent to many, but you are my strong refuge. 8 My mouth is filled with your praise, and with your glory all the day. 9 Do not cast me off in the time of old age; forsake me not when my strength is spent.

"This psalmist believes in the sovereignty of God - that the Lord, the Supreme Ruler of the universe, has everything under His control. Not only is He sovereign, but He sustains. From birth, through youth, into the middle years and beyond, the psalmist has felt His sustaining grace."

I have felt this, as well. I can look back and see God's sustaining hand on my life. However, like this psalmist, as my life gets on in years, my confidence begins to waver. Why? That's a very good question. I'm not sure, but the person who wrote this psalm experienced the same feelings. He is afraid of his enemies. He even expresses some fear that God might forsake him. That's a tough one. Because we are taught and know that God will never leave us or forsake us. But yet there are times when we still fear that he might. I pray that we will be able to overcome those fears.
(From A Musician Looks At the Psalms, by Don Wyrtzen)



Father, I thank you that you are there, and always. I praise you that you will never leave or forsake me. Forgive me when I doubt that truth, just as this psalmist did. I know in my heart that you will never forsake me, but sometimes my head forgets that. And sometimes, as that Puritan prayer stated, my sin makes me forget you. To me that is such a horrible thing, but it does happen sometimes.

We are but frail humanity, we are but dust. How can dust praise you, mighty God? But, yet, you have breathed into us not only the breath of life, but the Holy Spirit, as well, so that, yes, we CAN praise you!! And I will praise you, I will praise you with my dying breath, O God!



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

PRAY FOR PRESIDENT OBAMA AND HIS ADMINISTRATION

President Barack Obama�s top legislative priority this summer is passage of a comprehensive energy bill that would
transition the U.S. toward using renewable, clean energy sources.

The State Department released its annual report on human trafficking, citing 13 countries not complying with
international laws, and 59 others on a �watch list� for less than significant efforts to curb the problem.

Pray that the actions of our government both foreign and domestic will comply with high moral standards.



God will not ever forsake us, no matter how tempted we are to believe otherwise. Let his Spirit attest to that truth in your spirit.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com