Giving Thanks--Worshipping
2009-11-26

Happy Thanksgiving all you Diaryland peeps! Praying for a peaceful day at the Bickleyhouse.

To get started on the right foot, I'm getting my devotions in.



My Psalm for today is Psalm 119:80-88.

I read this section in the larger passage from last time. The Psalmist begins by asking for the ability to live a completely holy life, encompassing all aspects of his life, physical and spiritual. But then, he launches into a section of slight complaining. He's waiting to see God's promises come to fruition. He won't take his eyes off the promises, though, no matter what.

From Calvin: "The prophet not only here prays that God would help him, because his will was weak; but he testifies, without qualification, that uprightness of heart is a gift of the Holy Spirit. We are, moreover, taught by these words, in what the true keeping of the law consists. A great part of mankind, after having carelessly framed their lives according to the Divine law, by outward obedience, think that they want nothing. But the Holy Spirit here declares that no service is acceptable to God, except that which proceeds from integrity of heart."



Tabletalk Magazine today adresses the complex issue of repentance and regeneration. Most Christians tend to believe that repentance is a result of something we do and that "being born again happens after we have faith and repentance, that whether or not we are saved is ultimately due to our choosing of Christ." However, Scripture is clear "that no person can make this decision without the special work of God the Holy Spirit, which is not given to all." According to Ephesians 2, we were dead in sin and trespasses. "Dead people cannot do anything, and those who are spiritually dead can never decide to put their faith in Christ when they are left to themselves." The next part is very important. "This is the work of regeneration, and it happens before faith and repentance. First the Spirit gives us a new heart and then we exercise faith." Regeneration precedes repentance. Even repentance is a gift from our God. We cannot take credit for that, either.


From Holiness Day by Day:

A very important part of our devotion to God is worship. By this we mean the act of "ascribing to God the glory, majesty, honor, and worthiness which are His." We are given a clear picture of how this is happening in heaven in Revelation 4 and 5. The scenes depicted there should be copied here on earth.

Scripture frequently depicts bowing the knee while worshipping. However, worship is about the heart, not what position the body is in. But the heart should be "bowed down" in submission to Almighty God when we assume an attitude of worship.

Today is a good day to talk about worship. We give thanks today for the many blessings that God has given us. Thanksgiving is just one of the components of worship. It is not just singing praises. There is more to worship than music. We worship God today when we remember to thank him for everything.



I am so thankful, God. My heart is over-flowing today with thankfulness for you and all that you are. I am grateful that you chose to grant me the gift of regeneration, so that I can exercise faith in you through repentance. I acknowledge that I could not have chosen you, had you not given me the ability to do so. I am awestruck that I was chosen. My heart is close to bursting with gratitude today.

I thank you for your promises. Let me be immersed in the reading of your Word daily, as I keep reminding myself of the many promises you have given us. Let me never lose faith in you, and the fact that you will keep all your promises, and that you will do all that you say you will do.

I worship you today with thanksgiving, Lord.



It's a beautiful day in Texas. We join with millions today as we celebrate.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com