Perfect Righteousness
2009-11-21

Things aren't much better yet on the Stephanie front. I'll probably update more on that later on Musicman's diary. On the positive side, Thanksgiving is this week. Four day weekend for Christi and me, and no school at all for Stephanie. At least the meltdowns will only happen at home.


My Psalm for today is Psalm 119:54-61.

One thing the Psalmist says in this passage is that he sets God's instructions to music. I love this! It's how I feel. It's an incredibly satisfying feeling to set God's Word to music. And then, in verse 57, he declares that God satisfies him. Oh, that we could all make that declaration! Does God satisfy me? If that is really true, then why do I keep looking at worldly things for satisfaction?

Calvin makes note in his commentary that, even when he was exiled from his home, and had no contact with the regular worship rituals of the temple, he was never out of contact with God. This is very important for us to note. On an individual level, we do not need to necessarily have the entrapments of corporate religion to maintain intimacy with God. However, it is also important to note that this does not excuse us from being involved in corporate worship. David's case was extreme. He was exiled, banned. We are not. We should be involved with a part of the body of Christ whenever possible, but if it is not, we do not lose touch with God because of it.



In Tabletalk Magazine, the thought of broken relationships is discussed in light of 2 Timothy 2:20-21. We must always remember that the health of the body of Christ is more important than one relationship. There are times that separation is necessary in order to progress in holiness. Paul had the the displeasure several times of having to cast former ministry partners out of the church and watch them fall "headlong into deeper error." It was painful, but necessary for the health of the body. The Bible is clear that we will always have unbelievers in our midst, but we must be cautious, especially when "handing out" ministry positions in our churches. So many times, I have seen brand new coverts given charge over the most delicate minds of all, our children. This should NEVER happen! But I digress.

Today's point is that we, as believers, must purify ourselves from the "dishonorable" in order to be vessels of honor for God. And it might just require cutting off a relationship.



What is the most important question in the world? According to the author of Holiness Day By Day, it is the question of "how a sinful man or woman can come into a right relationship with an infinitely holy and just God."

Jesus, in Mark 8:36, asked "What good is it for a man to gain the whole world, yet forfeit his soul?" What if a person lives a long life, experiencing great prosperity, yet dies without a right relationship with God? He loses everything. His life has been for naught.

Since God is perfectly righteous, the only way to have a right relationship with him is to be perfectly righteous. Problem is...that's not possible. Paul tells us in Romans 3:10, that there is "no one righteous, not even one."

So, what? We try harder, right? That just won't work. "No one will be declared righteous in [God's] sight by observing the law; rather, through the law we become conscious of sin." (Romans 3:20) No matter how hard we try, we cannot be perfectly righteous.

So what is the answer? Paul gives it in Romans 3:21-22: "The righteousness of God has been manifested apart from the law...the righteousness of God through faith in Jesus Christ for all who believe."

Hallelujah!



Father, I praise you for the gift of music! I cannot imagine my life without music. I cannot imagine not being able to praise you with instruments and singing. And you have also gifted me with some ability to set your words to music, just as David did in the Old Testament times. I praise you for that and I pray for more motivation to do that more often. May my life be a song, composed only for you! I also pray that I will be satisfied with only you!

I pray that there will never be a relationship in my life that will hinder me from the pursuit of holiness. Keep me mindful that the health of the body of Christ is much more important than any individual relationship. Help me to cleanse my life from anything dishonorable, so that I might be an honorable vessel for you.

I thank you for the gift of righteousness through faith in Christ Jesus. I have been "right with you" in that way for many, many years, now. I pray that, for as long as I might live, that I will also point others towards the perfect righteousness of Jesus Christ, the only way to be right with you.



From the Presidential Prayer Team site:

Pray for the continued support of the president standing up for freedom of worship and religion in China. Pray for the protection and flourishing of the church in China.



I pray that everyone has a blessed Thanksgiving week.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com