Every Day Is A Gift From God!
2009-06-08

That weekend went by way too quickly, didn't it? But one day is over in this week, already. Sometime, it seems so silly to me that we just talk about how many more days until the weekend... I wonder how many miraculous moments we miss during the drudgery of the weekdays. Wow...I think I just had an epiphany. Or maybe it was just the money I could be saving with GEICO....


Here's a prayer for today from the Presidential Prayer Team site (almost forgot about it).

The Economic Stimulus Package. Back in Washington, President Obama promised Monday to deliver more than 600,000 jobs through his $787 billion stimulus plan this summer, with federal agencies funding public works projects, schools and summer youth programs.

Regardless of whether or not we agree with this whole "stimulus package" deal, the jobless rate and economic situation of our nation are in dire need of prayer.



Psalm for Today: 68:7-27

7-10 God, when you took the lead with your people,
when you marched out into the wild,
Earth shook, sky broke out in a sweat;
God was on the march.
Even Sinai trembled at the sight of God on the move,
at the sight of Israel's God.
You pour out rain in buckets, O God;
thorn and cactus become an oasis
For your people to camp in and enjoy.
You set them up in business;
they went from rags to riches.

11-14 The Lord gave the word;
thousands called out the good news:
"Kings of the armies
are on the run, on the run!"
While housewives, safe and sound back home,
divide up the plunder,
the plunder of Canaanite silver and gold.
On that day that Shaddai scattered the kings,
snow fell on Black Mountain.

15-16 You huge mountains, Bashan mountains,
mighty mountains, dragon mountains.
All you mountains not chosen,
sulk now, and feel sorry for yourselves,
For this is the mountain God has chosen to live on;
he'll rule from this mountain forever.

17-18 The chariots of God, twice ten thousand,
and thousands more besides,
The Lord in the lead, riding down Sinai�
straight to the Holy Place!
You climbed to the High Place, captives in tow,
your arms full of booty from rebels,
And now you sit there in state,
God, sovereign God!

19-23 Blessed be the Lord�
day after day he carries us along.
He's our Savior, our God, oh yes!
He's God-for-us, he's God-who-saves-us.
Lord God knows all
death's ins and outs.
What's more, he made heads roll,
split the skulls of the enemy
As he marched out of heaven,
saying, "I tied up the Dragon in knots,
put a muzzle on the Deep Blue Sea."
You can wade through your enemies' blood,
and your dogs taste of your enemies from your boots.

24-31 See God on parade
to the sanctuary, my God,
my King on the march!
Singers out front, the band behind,
maidens in the middle with castanets.
The whole choir blesses God.
Like a fountain of praise, Israel blesses God.
Look�little Benjamin's out
front and leading
Princes of Judah in their royal robes,
princes of Zebulon, princes of Naphtali.
(The Message)

"For the most part we are apt to undervalue the Divine presence, and therefore David presents us with a description fitted to exalt our thoughts of it. Owing to our unbelieving hearts, the least danger which occurs in the world weighs more with us than the power of God. We tremble under the slightest trials; for we forget or cherish low views of his omnipotence. To preserve us from this error, David directs us to the countless myriads of angels which are at God's command, a circumstance, the consideration of which may well enable us to defy the evils which beset us."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms

This may be one of the most encouraging readings yet from this source! To what degree does my lack of a proper view of God's power have an impact on my daily life?



Tabletalk Magazine

"The Desire for Ordination"
1 Timothy 3:1

The saying is trustworthy: If anyone aspires to the office of overseer, he desires a noble task. (ESV)

The word for "overseer" in this verse is the Greek word episkopos, from which we get episcopal. It basically means one who is in charge of one or more geographical areas of the Church.

Anyone desiring this task needs to be sure that they are not craving power. As for the title of today's reading, I'm not real big on "ordination," myself. I don't think the way we practice it in today's institutional church is biblical. In fact, I'm pretty sure there is no biblical precedence for it at all. The word doesn't even exist in the New Testament at all.



Holiness Day by Day

"A Suffering Life"
Hebrews 5:8

Although he was a son, he learned obedience through what he suffered. (ESV)

Usually, we think of Christ's suffering as beginning when he starts the road to Calvary. How short-sighted of us. How about when he "stepped down" from glory into a frail, tiny, human baby? The author of this book believes that Jesus's suffering began at that point, and I'm inclined to agree with him. He "laid aside His divine glory and assumed a human nature subject to the same physical weaknesses and infirmities we are exposed to."

And then, to cap off a life of suffering, he "reaped what we have sown." It reached the climax on the cross, where we see the best example of His perfect obedience. His entire life was one of obedient suffering.



Father, I thank you, first, for the encouragement from the Psalm I read today. It is true that most of the time my view of you is not sufficient. Why else would I ever worry about one single thing in my life? Why would I get discouraged or depressed if I had in mind the myriads of angels at your disposal and your amazing power? Help me to focus on that on a daily, no, on a minute by minute basis. Through every single trial of my life, you are there and you are in control! I must believe that!

I pray that I would never, ever desire power in relationship to your Church! My role in your Church, at this point, is as a servant/leader in the art of worshipping you. I'm content with that role.

I thank you, dear Jesus, for your life of suffering. That sounds so shallow to even say, my Lord! But it is the best I can do with my limited language. You reaped what I have sown. You took upon yourself a life of suffering to be the sacrifice for my sin. I am not, nor will I ever be, worthy of that sacrifice. But you, through that obedient life and sacrifice, have made me worthy of God's grace and mercy, because he sees me through your blood. I praise you, Jesus, I praise you, Father!



Going back to the very beginning of this entry, I purpose tonight to begin to look at every day equally. I will cease to pine away for the weekends, at the expense of what might be going on around me on a daily basis. Every day is a gift from God, not just Friday through Sunday. Even Monday is a gift from God (keep repeating that one...Hahahah).

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com