Day 356--Hospitality Worthy of God Himself
2009-03-19

Thursday morning, last full day of our vacation. Sigh. It's been mostly good, though. Mostly.


Here's today's prayer for the President from the Praying Through the First 100 Days site.

For wisdom and protection for the family of Joe and Jill Biden and their grandchildren

I will lie down and sleep in peace, for you alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety.
--Psalm 4:8 (NIV)

Loving God, we praise You today that Your Word repeatedly characterizes You as the One we can rely on for protection. We have no need to fear, Lord, because You place us under the safe covering of Your mighty wings each and every day in every moment guarding our lives as precious to You, for we are the very apple of Your eye. Thank you, O God, for that reality.

We now ask You to give this same protection to Joe and Jill Biden and their entire family, particularly their grandchildren. Heavenly Father, let them know the certainty of Your peace, and allow them, Lord, to rest in the reality of Your complete and unwavering protection. You alone, O Lord, can do this, and we ask You to honor our prayer today, in the name of Jesus Christ, amen.



Psalm for Today: 24:1

24:1 The earth is the Lord's and the fullness thereof,
the world and those who dwell therein,

"As God by his providence preserves the world, the power of his government is alike extended to all, so that he ought to be worshipped by all, even as he also shows to all men, without exception, the fatherly care he has about them.
"In short, the Psalmist pronounces God to be the King of the whole world, to let all men know that, even by the law of nature, they are bound to serve him."

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Day 356 in The Message//Remix:Solo

3 John 5-11

Dear friend, when you extend hospitality to Christian brothers and sisters, even when they are strangers, you make the faith visible.

In providing meals and a bed, we become their companions in spreading the Truth.

Friend, don't go along with evil. Model the good. The person who does good does God's work. The person who does evil falsifies God, doesn't know the first thing about God.

I'm trying to remember when the last time was that I had a chance to show someone hospitality or to help someone who is trying to do good.

I remember an instance when we took a missionary out to eat for Sunday lunch and discussed his ministry with him. It was at this point that we decided to become regular contributors to his ministry. I believe that in doing this, we not only showed him hospitality, but helped him in his efforts to "do good."

We are always generous with what God has blessed us with, and I believe we do it cheerfully. We've had Christian friends in our home for various reasons.

Would I be willing to let a stranger stay in my home for a while? I don't know. I might need some help with that one. It's one thing to feed people and give them funds to carry on their ministry. It's a different thing to let someone live at your house. This is much more personal and intimate. I don't know if everyone is gifted to do that.

But the point is, whatever we do, we don't do to make ourselves feel better, or for the idea that we will get God's reward or something. We do what we do because God has blessed us, and we want to pass that along. So, with that, I believe that my motives, when I do help someone or show hospitality, are pure.



Father, I give thanks to you for your provision to me and my family. I am grateful that we both still have jobs in this scary economy. I am also thankful that you have given us generous and thankful hearts. I pray, though, that you would help make us more aware of opportunities to show hospitality to other believers. Especially those who are doing your work in the world. May we be someone's companion in spreading the Truth.


May we all be a little bit more open to showing hospitality to other Christians, should the opportunity arise. May we remember that "the person who does good does God's work."

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com