Day 333--Throwing Out the Old Plan
2009-02-16

Feeling a little better all the time...thanks for all the prayers and well wishes. Still coughing up a ton of crud, but that carries on for a while after these things are past.

Briefly, I have a few prayer requests for this week. First, we have another meeting with Stephanie's therapist tomorrow morning (Tuesday) at 8:30. I will be there for this one, and am very excited to meet this doctor. Second, we have an ARD meeting at school on Thursday afternoon at 2:30. This will be the meeting where we finally tell them what we need, instead of the other way around. Immediately after that meeting, is another appointment with Stephanie's psychiatrist, to try to get this medication thing pinned down. Something isn't right. The Abilify alone is not handling her anxiety disorder. She needs something else for that. It may not be Welbutrin, but we need something. So, there it is.



Moving on to today's prayer for the President from the Praying Through the First 100 Days site.

For godly influence at every level of the White House
Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.
�I Peter 5:8(NIV)

Holy and beautiful Lord God, You are glorious, righteous and good. You are the source of all goodness and truth, and there is nothing that is good or true that did not have its source in You. You dwell in unfathomable light and glory, and darkness cannot abide with Your presence.

Lord, we know that we have an enemy�an enemy of our souls that would love to gain a foothold in the halls of influence and power, particularly in the White House and the West Wing. We ask today that godliness and holiness will be the order of the day every day, at every level in the White House. May godly character be valued and sought out by those who lead our nation, so You may be glorified and Your purposes served. In Jesus� name, amen.

While it's tempting to read a prayer like this and respond with "Godliness and holiness in the White House??...yeah, right," that's why this is a prayer. We are praying that God's power and influence would permeate the whole government.



Psalm for Today: Psalm 17:15

As for me, I shall behold your face in righteousness;
when I awake, I shall be satisfied with your likeness.

"As long as God humbles his people under manifold afflictions, the world insolently mocks at their simplicity, as if they deceived themselves, and lost their pains in devoting themselves to the cultivation and practice of purity and innocence. Against such kind of mockery and derision David is here struggling, and in opposition to it he assures himself that there is a recompense laid up for his godliness and uprightness, provided he continue to persevere in his obedience to the holy law of God; as Isaiah, in like manner (3:10), exhorts the faithful to support themselves from this consideration, that 'it shall be well with the righteous: for they shall eat the fruit of their doings.'"

(Commentary from Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms)



Day 333 in The Message//Remix:Solo

Hebrews 8:1-2,6-12

I'll start off here by saying that I'm not real crazy about Peterson's translation of this passage. He uses the word "plan" where the traditional translations use the word "covenant." Not at all the same thing. A covenant is an agreement, not a plan. Peterson's translation makes it look as though God had to come up with a "new plan" because the old one didn't work. This is not consistent with Scripture at all. Jesus and the New Covenant was not "plan B." There was never a "plan B." Jesus was the plan all along. The old covenant and the law were never intended to provide salvation. This is thoroughly covered in Galatians.

All that being said, I think the teaching in this passage of Hebrews still comes out. Jesus's work as a high priest does, in fact, vastly surpass anything an earthly high priest did. The earthly high priests were only able to "cover over" sin with the blood of animals. Jesus, in his final and perfect work, cleanses sin. He removes it. Forever.

The Old Covenant was only "imperfect" in that it was not able to do that. But it was never intended to. The Old Covenant was written on stone tablets. The New Covenant is written on "the lining of their hearts." It's carved within us. To say something is "written in stone" is supposed to mean it's permanent. But it isn't really, is it? Have you ever been to a very old cemetary? Looked at the gravestones from the 19th century? How many of them can you read? Many of them are now illegible, because of the natural wear and tear of the elements. But something that is written on the lining of my heart is permanent. It will never wear off. God is my God. I am one of his. I know him firsthand. I don't have to "go to school" to learn about him or seek him through an intermediary like a priest. I have direct access to God. As do all of you who are believers in Christ.

I do like the translation of the last line. They'll get to know me by being kindly forgiven, with the slate of their sins forever wiped clean.

...forever wiped clean!

Pardon me while I celebrate that joyful news!

Hallelujah!

We are not expected, nor required, to fully obey the Old Covenant. In fact, by trusting in Jesus, we have been counted as already fulfilling it!

And our slates are forever wiped clean!



I praise you Father, that the "old plan" was never the "real plan." Jesus was always in your mind and always your plan. We see him in Scripture as the Lamb of God, slain before the foundations of the earth! Hallelujah, my God! I thank you that, in Jesus, I have been counted as fulfilling the old covenant, and that my slate of sin is wiped clean. And as soon as I sin again, it is already wiped. But, Lord, I do understand that this is not a license for me to do as I please. I pray for a stronger sense of obedience, and more resolve to resist temptation. I feel your presence more and more each day. I am so grateful for that. May my life become a constant flow of worship and praise to your name.


Take a few moments to just sit in quiet gratitude that God has written his new covenant on the lining of our hearts and that our slates of sin are forever wiped clean!

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com