DAY 249--LIVE AS YOU WERE MEANT TO LIVE
2008-09-26

Psalm for Today: Psalm 101

I will ponder the way that is blameless.
Oh when will you come to me?
I will walk with integrity of heart within my house;
I will not set before my eyes anything that is worthless.
I hate the work of those who fall away; it shall not cling to me.
A perverse heart shall be far from me;
I will know nothing of evil.
Verses 2-4

If I could only achieve what these verses say. Sadly, I think there are too many worthless things before my eyes.



Tabletalk Magazine

Matthew 22:46 The Wisdom of God

No one was able to answer him a word, nor from that day did anyone dare to ask him any more questions. Verse 46

I love this verse. They couldn't trap him and when he finally backed them into a corner with a question that they couldn't answer, they just shut up.

Jesus's reasoning and use of the Psalms has silenced his accusers. He is the wisdom of God, personified.



Day 249 in The Message//Remix:Solo

Acts 16:25-34

Paul and Silas are in prison, after being beaten by a mob. But instead of having a pity party, they were singing hymns, loudly! The other prisoners were a little surprised, of course. Suddenly, there was a great earthquake, and all of the prison doors sprang open. The jailer was jarred from his sleep, saw the doors open, and proceeded to draw his sword to kill himself. Apparently, the Roman rule was not ver kind to a jailer who let prisoners escape.

But Paul and Silas stopped him, assuring him that they were all still there. This affected him so dramatically that he became a believe in Christ after they explained the gospel to him. Surely, this is because of the fact that they didn't just run away. A "normal" prisoner would have, but they didn't.

I'm not sure if the jailer would have known what it meant to put his trust in the "Master Jesus," without their explanation. However, it is entirely possible that he had heard the preaching, because Paul and Company were getting pretty well known in those parts.

The jailer then took them all to his house, made them welcome and fed them. Paul and Silas baptized the jailer and his entire family.



Father, the attitude of Paul and Silas in this passage is moving. They could have just run away and saved themselves, but they thought of the jailer and his life. The result of this was the salvation of an entire family. Give me the kind of thoughtfulness and attitude that would have these kinds of results in the world. Especially, give me the kind of joy that can loudly sing hymns in the most adverse of circumstances.


I'm going to work on rejoicing even though the circumstances might not warrant that. I'm going to look for someone to love who isn't expecting it. I'm going to look for unexpected events and celebrate them.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com