We Are All Broken People
2008-06-26

I know I've been away for a few days. We've been working out at the gym two nights this week, so that cut into my time after I get up in the afternoons. The other day, I don't remember what happened...Oh, yeah. I had to take Stephanie to her psychiatrist at 10 in the morning, so I was up late and slept later.

Today, we got our Wii packages from FedEx/UPS. So I've been setting those up so Stephanie could start playing with the WiiFit.

I'm supposed to cook chicking on the grill in a bit, so I don't know if I'll have time to get a devotional in or not.

I've made some observations, though, in reading my buddy list of diaries.

We are all broken people. All of us. There are some that seem to have it together more than the bulk of us, but, for the most part, we are all simply broken people.

Bad as that sounds, though, it is really nothing to be ashamed of. I think I've discovered that, too. Most, if not all, of my buddy list people are Christians. As I read the various diaries, we are all plagued by things that keep us from experiencing that elusive intimacy with our Father. We all do a pretty good job of keeping that thing hidden from everyone else. Some of us are more open about than others. I'm not all that open about mine.

But the fact is, we all struggle with something. I find some comfort in that, and it gives me even more of a sense of "community," or connectedness with those of you whose diaries I read on a regular basis.

Just because I keep this online journal full of devotions and bible readings doesn't mean I have it all together, and I think that anyone who has read more than a couple of entries can tell that.

Friends, I struggle with my flesh, and I struggle hard.

But Jesus is there for us. He came for broken people. Remember, he said that the sick people need doctors, not the healthy ones. That comment was made to a bunch of people who thought they were ok. They didn't think they needed any "physician."

But we do. We are sick, we are broken, and we need the Great Physician. From people who know in their hearts that they love God, but just can't seem to get it right, to people who have gone most of their lives assuming that they were "saved," and suddenly aren't sure of it.

We all need Jesus. Because we are all broken.

Well, Mom's home, so I have to go cook chicken. Maybe I'll get in a devotional tomorrow.

But wait...maybe I got one today.

God bless all you broken people. Let's always be sure we support each other.

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com