Keep Watch Over Your Heart
2008-03-01

Welcome to March! Coming in rather "lamb-like" here in Texas...


Psalms for today: 1, 31, 61, 91, 121

Here my cry, O God,
listen to my prayer;
from the end of the earth I call to you when my heart is faint.
Lead me to the rock that is higher than I,
for you have been my refuge,
a strong tower against the enemy.--Psalm 61:1-3



Day 100

Proverbs 4:20-23;5:8-14

Part of the 8-14 passage includes a statement made by a theoretical person who has reached the end of his life, "full of regrets, nothing but sin and bones." Here is what he says:

Oh, why didn't I do what they told me?
Why did I reject a disciplined life?
Why didn't I listen to my mentors, or take my teachers seriously?
My life is ruined!
I haven't one blessed thing to show for my life!

How tragic! But I could easily see myself making that very statement. In many ways, I have "squandered" this life thus far. I'll be 50 this month. This is not a "middle-aged crazy lament" or anything like it, but when I reach birthdays, especially ones where the first number changes, I try to evaluate my life thus far. Have I lived a life worth living? Worth even an "honorable mention?"

I've been alive for 5 decades now, spanning parts of 6 calendar decades. I actually remember the 60s because I wasn't old enough to get caught up in the drug-crazed euphoria that took over. What have I accomplished? Probably no more or no less than the average 50 year old male in the U.S. I have two wonderful children, one in college, one about to be in high school. I've been married for 22 years to the same wonderful woman (that, in itself is an accomplishment these days, but I have a great example in my parents who have now been married for over 50 years!), in spite of the fact that this relationship was seriously threatened at least twice during that time span. Both times...my fault...once again, due to my lack of discipline.

But I feel that I'm on a road to change now. This string of daily devotions that began on December 30 of last year, is probably the longest run of continuous devotions I have ever had. That, in and of itself, is no big deal, but it's a sign of discipline. So maybe there is hope. I have also been worship leader at our current church for 7 years this April. That's the longest I have served at one church. I've outlasted two pastors and two interim pastors. But I still have a lot of work to do.

How does one avoid these pitfalls? Proverbs 4:20-23 has some suggestions.

Dear friend, listen well to my words;
tune your ears to my voice.
Keep my message in plain view at all times.
Concentrate! Learn it by heart!
Thos who discover these words live, really live;
body and soul, they're bursting with health.

There it is. Listen! Concentrate! Shut out the random cacophony of daily noise in the world around you. (How'd you like that word? Heh.) Learn God's words by heart! Oh, how I have failed to do this. Oh, sure, I can still quote lots and lots of verses. (Oddly enough, most of them I still can quote in the old KJV, even though I haven't read that version in years.) But I haven't learned any new ones in a looong time. Is Scripture memory only for children? I think not. It's easier for children than for grown ups...fresh minds and all that rot, but doesn't mean we shouldn't still be memorizing verses, passages, whatever we need for life and godliness.

Finally, verse 23 adds the kicker..."Keep vigilant watch over your heart; that's where life starts."

Keep vigilant watch over your heart.

That's where the enemy can do the most damage.

Father, I confess my regrets to you today, concerning time squandered in my life. It's nothing new...you've heard this same old prayer many times before, even with the proclamation, "But this time I mean it!" Nevertheless, I see my need, and know that it is to you that I must come in order to meet it. Examine my heart as I type these words. You can see the particulars that I'm not writing in this public forum. That's not important to anyone else but you and me. Take this life that is, in theory, a little more than half over. Make something out of the last half of it. Make me a disciplined man. Make me a champion of your grace. Teach me to love. Really love. Teach me to listen to your words. Above all, teach me to guard my heart.

Keep vigilant watch over your hearts, blessed ones!

Grace and peace...



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com