God Encounters
2008-02-21

Psalms for today: 21, 51, 81, 111, 141

Have mercy on me, O God,
according to your steadfast love;
according to your abundant mercy
blot out my transgressions.
Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity,
and cleanse me from my sin!

For I know my transgressions,
and my sin is ever before me.
Against you, you only, have I sinned
and done what is evil in your sight,
so that you may be justified in your words
and blameless in your judgment.
Behold, I was brought forth in iniquity,
and in sin did my mother conceive me.
Behold, you delight in truth in the inward being,
and you teach me wisdom in the secret heart.

Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean;
wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.
Let me hear joy and gladness;
let the bones that you have broken rejoice.
Hide your face from my sins,
and blot out all my iniquities.
Create in me a clean heart, O God,
and renew a right spirit within me.
Cast me not away from your presence,
and take not your Holy Spirit from me.
Restore to me the joy of your salvation,
and uphold me with a willing spirit.--Psalm 51:1-12




Day 91

It's recap day, so here we go.

Day 85--Can't Get Enough

Psalm 63

I have a constant state of hungering and thirsting for God. This is as it should be. However, I'm frequently allowing myself to be satisfied with "hamburger" instead of God's "prime rib." I need to be blessing God every time I take a breath. "Nourish in your heart a lively longing for God."

Day 86--the Posture of Gratitude

Psalm 75

I made a long list of things/people/events I am grateful for. Asaph had a list, too. One thing stands out in this psalm..."your Name is our favorite word..." How many of us could make that statement, that the name of the Lord is our favorite word. And I'm not talking about those who like to use our Savior's name as a curse word, either.
God is in complete control of all things. This should make us feel less anxious about everything.

Day 87--I'll Worship You Undivided

Psalm 86

I prayed for God to give me an undivided heart. I experimented with various postures while reading the psalm aloud. Results were interesting. Amazing how something as simple as kneeling or standing can change the intensity of Scripture reading.

Day 88--When the Rocks Cry Out>/b>

Psalm 96

"Bravo, God, Bravo!!"

Amen to that. How often have we simply shouted out "Bravo!" to God?

Not enough, I'll bet.

We shout out other messages, though, with the ways we react to various situations and circumstances in our lives. How often I have been embarrassed later by a reaction to something trivial in my day. Very unchristlike at times.

We should celebrate God more. He has many attributes that we can celebrate daily. I celebrated his faithfulness on this day.

Day 89--Blessing God

Psalm 103

Bless the Lord! Don't forget about his benefits. Psalm 103 makes a handy list of benefits that the Lord gives us. I also keyed in on a phrase that means a lot to me that is used in Psalm 49, one of my daily Psalm readings. "But God..." What a beautiful phrase that is used so many times in Scripture.

Also...God doesn't treat us as our sins deserve! Hallelujah for that!

Day 90--Spiritual History Lessons

Psalm 106

The psalmist in this passage is reminding Israel of its history with God. Especially how he saved them out of oppression. Over and over again. And again. But in the books of the Judges and Kings, there is a tragic phrase that keeps occurring. "The people of Israel again did what was evil in the sight of the Lord." Again and again. But every time, when he "gave them over," after they once again came to their senses and cried out to him, he delivered them yet again.

We serve a faithful God. Infinitely faithful.

Give him praise and celebrate his name. Make his Name your favorite word.

Grace and peace!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com